Thursday, December 15, 2011

Southern California Wraps Up Last Annual President's Meeting

Under the leadership of Mr. Don Goebel, Southern California Division Director, each of the six regions in the division have held their annual President's Meeting. Falling on the heels of the West Zone Meeting held on 5 November, Steve Workman (East Region Director) kicked things off in Southern California on 13 November. The last meeting was held on 12 December in Long Beach, CA. as Rick Sanchez (West Region Director) met with his league presidents.

The annual President's Meetings are an important tool we use to disclose items of interest for the upcoming season. Those items include all rule changes, league administrative requirements such as league registration and tournament process as well as a brief introduction to the PONY corporate structure and the business processes that are in place. President's are also provided information regarding the Executive Committee and the Board of Directors responsibilities. Other items of discussion include Tournament Dates, the Americans with Disability Act (ADA) requirements, and region specific information as decided by each of the Region Directors. Brad Hubbard and Dana Robie, West Zone Softball, attend each of the 6 meetings and provide leagues with information regarding PONY Softball as we try to grow PONY Softball in the West Zone. Special guests are also invited in some regions to provide information pertinent to that specific region. For example, the San Diego Padres provide a Free Coaches Clinic thru BASEBALL ASAP http://www.baseballasap.com/page/coaches-clinics held inside PETCO Park annually to all local youth baseball organizations as well as the annual PONY Day with the Padres event. Representatives from the San Diego Padres Ticket Office as well as BASEBALL ASAP are in attendance and provide information to the presidents.

To ensure we are getting the word out correctly and ensure we are on the same page, a standard presentation is developed annually which is utilized by all Region Directors. Items specific to each region can then be added/modified as necessary by each of the respective Region Directors. Each of the Region Directors attend one anothers meetings to show support and to assist as necessary. Don Goebel, Division Director, also makes the long drives to each and every one of the SoCal President's Meetings. Mr. Joseph Gagliardi, West Zone Vice President, is normally in attendance as well.

It's a great opportunity for us to make initial contact with our leagues that may have had a large turnover on their board of directors and to provide them with the necessary tools for the upcoming season. Even the presidents who have been around for years still attend and make valuable contributions to the meetings.

Southern California Points of Contact

Don Goebel, Division Director, d.goebel@pony.org
Brad Hubbard, Softball, b.hubbard@pony.org
Bill Blaylock, North Region Director, b.blaylock@pony.org
Keith Spencer, Southwest Region Director, k.spencer@pony.org
Steve Workman, East Region Director, s.workman@pony.org
Rick Sanchez, West Region Director, r.sanchez@pony.org
Bob Aguilera, Central Region Director, b.aguilera@pony.org
Chuck Dubski, Southeast Region Director, c.dubski@pony.org